Skip to content

My New Baby — A Gifted Blog

November 23, 2009

When I received an email from Jeanne Bernish a few weeks ago about a proposal she had, I had no idea that I would soon be the proud new mother – of a gifted blog.  Jeanne has done a great job of creating the High Ability blog, and I know she will be watching to make sure that I treat her “baby” with tender, loving care.  For my part, I am just thrilled to embark on a new online adventure.  I’ve been thinking about blogging for some time  now.  As the Executive Director of the Ohio Association for Gifted Children, I regularly use listservs, twitter, facebook, and of of course the OAGC website.  But in those venues, I seem to be limited to just the facts and nothing but the facts.  There are times when I would actually like to share my opinion and maybe go beyond the world of just Ohio gifted issues a bit.  So, while I freely acknowledge that I have no idea what I am doing (yet), I have a feeling this is going to be great new adventure.  I hope Jeanne’s followers will hang in there as I get the hang of this.   And to Jeanne, best of luck to you and know that I will try to take care of my newly adopted blog as best I can.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2009 2:07 am

    Hi Ann-

    I am a fellow Columbus, Ohioan/OAGC member/blogging newbie/gifted blogger (not my blogging is gifted, I blog about things gifted) as well! We can learn together, but I know you will do great! Jeanne is awesome, and she would not have handed the reins over to someone incapable! Welcome to the blogging world. It’s fun! Feel free to add me to the blogroll on the right!

    -Missy

  2. November 25, 2009 9:50 pm

    Ooops Missy – I thought you were already there! I am so glad that Ann is taking over High Ability – we have had so much momentum this year and visibility and I really wanted that to stay with an Ohio focus. I know Ann is anxious to incorporate more social media tools in her tool kit and I am glad that she has so graciously accepted this role!

  3. November 25, 2009 10:02 pm

    I’m so excited! I just can’t hide it! I’ll try not to lose control, though. 🙂

    Welcome Ann and GOOD LUCK Jeanne on whatever new adventures you pursue that we benefit from (because I know we will)!

    Please send me a shout out ANYTIME if I can be of assistance in this socmedia world.

    And happy Thanksgiving!

  4. anngift permalink*
    November 25, 2009 11:14 pm

    Thanks everyone for the good wishes. It may take a little time to get up to speed, but I think this is going to be so much fun! Oh, and congratulations on your new political career, Jill. Missy, I will put your site on the blog roll over the weekend. For now, I am going to concentrate my gifts on making pie, turkey, etc. etc.

Leave a Reply

